Good Monday Morning to you!

I am back at school and had a wonderful spring break with my family! It was a blast and went by way to fast. I was so glad that I got to go to three rodeos and see the kiddos do great! That is always a highlight of my time at home, seeing how much each one has improved since I saw them compete last. I am getting old; my siblings are getting so BIG! Time truly does ‘march on’ J

Today is Monday, that day of the week that seems to either be the start of a very productive and fun week or that downer, hectic day that seems to sets the precedent of downward spiral week. I sure hope that all of us have a splendid week, because I can’t handle a downer! 😉

Beef for Breakfast Mondays has been fun for Anna-Lisa and I, and we truly hope it has given you inspiration for ways to incorporate beef into your breakfast routine. However, both of us feel that each month we want to have something new and fun on Mondays. So, you have two more Beef for Breakfast Mondays before a new theme starts for April. This is where you come in, we are going to be polling this week for ideas that you, our readers would like to see next month. We want to know the ‘budget friendly buys’ that you are finding at the grocery store, but are running out of ideas to use that cut of beef. So please bring on the comments, ideas, and well frankly anything that is on your mind, we are ready to help you out any way we can!

While at home, mom and I made two awesome quiches, and I wanted to share one with all my dear readers. It was fantastic and extra yummy, plus it was made with Beef bacon!

 I know that many of you have never heard of Beef bacon, or know where to buy it. My family’s Beef processing plant Clint and Sons in White Deer, Texas smokes Beef bacon for us, and y’all I am here to tell you, it is heavenly! Oh my word, trust me! I really want to get Beef bacon in stores across the country because everyone should have access to such a delicacy! I’ll let you know when I succeed at that venture, one thing at a time and I need to post regularly for y’all and graduate before I start that, but a girl can dream and plan! 😉 So in the mean time, start asking your butcher if they will make Beef Bacon, and if you are fortunate enough to find it, awesome and if not you can use  beef pastrami from the deli.

Spinach Quiche with Beef … can’t wait for y’all to try this!

1 pie crust, homemade or bought does not matter
½ cup chopped onions
6 slices of Beef bacon
8 beaten eggs
½ cup sour cream
½ cup milk
¼ tsp. salt
¼ tsp. pepper
3 cups packed fresh spinach
1 ½ cup grated cheddar cheese
4 slices provolone cheese

Sauté onions and chopped Beef bacon together, until onions are caramelized and Beef bacon is starting to get crispy, drain on paper towels. Meanwhile prepare your pie crust of choice, and bake in a 450 degree oven for 10 min. until pie crust is set and dry. Reduce oven heat to 350 degrees.

In a bowl, whisk eggs, milk, and sour cream together, add spices and fold in grated cheese, spinach and onion mixture.

Pour into hot pie crust and bake at 350 degrees for 40 to 50 min or until top starts to golden and a knife inserted in center comes out clean.

Top your quiche with provolone and allow to brown for 3 min. Let stand for a few minutes before you slice in pie slices.

This is great served with fresh fruit and poppy seed dressing! It is also easy to make ahead and warm desired slices for the morning in the microwave, making breakfast fast, filling and quick!

Total Costs
 Pie Crust $1.89
1/2Chopped onion $0.89/2 = $0.44
Bacon $0.87
8 Eggs 1.38/18 = $0.61
½ c sour cream $0.89
½ cup milk $3.10/16 = $0.10
3 c ups spinach $1.68
1 ½ Cup Cheddar Cheese $3.59 / 4 = $0.89
4 slices provolone $0.40
Total Cost = $7.77 /4
Cost Per Plate = $1.94

 Hope you enjoy and don’t forget to come back and vote in our poll next week!

Happy Week everyone!

~Amy

