Good morning Y’all!

This is our final Beefs what’s for Breakfast Monday, April is two days away and I think everyone is going to love what Miss Anna-Lisa and I have coming up next Monday. So make sure you come back by, because when you get these two girls together cooking, inventing and laughing, things happen! 🙂

Before I get to the recipe today, I have to let y’all know that Saturday found Anna and I having a new experience. Imagine this – two ranch girls on a farm in Oklahoma in front of camera talking. Well talking for us is not new, but in front of a camera, y’all it’s a little intimidating! I have been known to talk without thinking before- now it is forever on tape, Amy bloopers 101 happened!

However, our great videographer Mitch Acala is working his miracles and cutting our 30 minutes of talking down to 5, poor guy, so sometime in the coming days you will finally get to see us, and hear this southern girls voice and Miss California’s accent. I am excited, and terrified all at the same time, and I cannot wait to do it again and improve on last time!

I was shopping last week and found beef short ribs on sale, and wanted to try them out. I had never cooked these before, but they turned out AWESOME. Yummy, makes me hungry just thinking about it. Our friend Lin came for ‘breakfast for supper’ tonight which was super fun, friends are one of the best things the good Lord ever made!!!  🙂 So, loosin’ up your belt and enjoy some country goodness!  

Country Ribs and Eggs

1 lb. Short ribs thawed
2 T. Beef Bouillon, granules
Rib Rub
4 Eggs
¼ Butter
Salt and Pepper

Ok, I have to let you in on a secret – short ribs are tough and you have to cook them a long time for them to get tender. So you can’t hurry these for breakfast, but think ahead and cook and re-warm for breakfast. Which in the words of my wise mom  “planning breakfast the day before is better anyway.” In a large soup pot fill 2/3 full and add the beef bouillon granules, heat to a rolling boil. Add the ribs and cook on medium high heat until tender, this could take up to 3 ½ hours. Keep adding water if needed.   
If I had a crock pot I would have used it, but I don’t here at school. However it would make it the easiest, because you could put the ribs in water and let them simmer on low all night long and wake up to the smell of beef cooking.

When ribs are tender, take out of water and sprinkle with rib rub. Store in refrigerator until you are ready to use them.

Heat a skillet, add ¼ stick of butter (or olive oil) and pan sear the ribs on both sides until browned.

Plate and serve with fried eggs and toast if you like, (and if you are really special homemade wild plum jelly on warm flaky biscuits! My mom makes the best!) This will truly get you going in the morning. Don’t be afraid to try different beef cuts for breakfast. It adds interest and keeps your family from getting bored.

Have a great week everyone – remember keep LAUGHING!

~Amy

Cost of Country Ribs & Eggs
Ribs – $4.48
Eggs – $0.56
Butter – $0.11
Total Cost – $5.14
Cost Per Plate – $2.52

