“The land of cowboys and buckaroos all the same, a place where vaqueros roamed and life was lived untamed.” ~ The Real Wild West by ALG

I have had the Wild West on my mind lately.  Ya know, I often think I was born in the wrong century, then I think… well, if I had been born in 1907, I wouldn’t be able to write for y’all!  So, I will be content to live in the 21st century, but I will continue to dream of the West; of a bedroll under a blanket of stars, boiled coffee over an open fire and the best food you could ever eat cooked on the range.  I was thinking of the West when I came up with this idea.  I thought to myself, I need to create more recipes that are simple, delicious, filling, composed of items easy to keep on hand, and cooked in one pan.  Amy wanted something home-style and told me of an old recipe she used to make with a croissant top, a pot pie of sorts, so I thought about my favorite things kept in the pantry and the result, a recipe so very me, Vaquero Pot Pie!  Think about it, ground beef, green chilies, RoTel tomatoes, purple onion and cheese!  How could it be bad right?  I made a mad dash for the house (ideas stewing in my mind) and got creative in my kitchen.  I have the best luck creating new recipes in my own kitchen because I am surrounded by inspiration; barbed wire on the walls, campfire coffee pot on the stove, cast iron skillets, surrounded by my favorite pieces of rusted enamelware and the six words “With Faith, All Things Are Possible” on a tile above the stove.  There is no better place in Stillwater, America for me to think up new recipes than in my kitchen, dancin’ around barefoot, singin’ to my favorite songs (last night’s choice…Old Time Vaquero by Adrian)

This recipe is quick and easy to prepare, great for moms on the go or busy college girls like us!  It also makes light work of cleaning the kitchen because you only need one cast iron skillet.  (You can also use a regular skillet and a 9 in. pie dish)  One of my favorite things about this recipe is that it is so simple and all of the ingredients are easy to in the pantry for that last minute dinner to take to a neighbor, or quick meal to fix for a crew, it can even be that meal that you make when you are entirely out of ideas!

So turn up your favorite music, kick off your shoes and get to dancin’ and creating in your kitchen!

Vaquero Pot Pie
1 lb ground beef
1 medium – small purple onion (chopped)
1 large can diced green chilies
2 cans RoTel tomatoes (Original)
1 T minced garlic
½ C Cheddar Cheese
1 Roll Wop & Pop Crescent Rolls
Salt & Pepper

 

In your medium size cast iron skillet (any skillet will do) brown ground beef, and add chopped onions, minced garlic and salt and pepper to taste.  Once the onions have begun to caramelize, add the can of green chilies and stir.  Once the meat is completely browned remove from the heat.  (At this point, preheat your oven to 375˚)  If you are not using cast iron, now is the time to transfer the meat mixture to a 9 in. baking dish.  Otherwise continue to prepare in the cast iron skillet, stir in ¼ C of shredded cheddar cheese.  Next, pour both cans of RoTel on top of the meat and spread evenly, this should cover the top of the meat.  Next top with ¼ C shredded cheddar cheese.  Now the fun part, wop and pop the roll of crescent rolls.  Unroll the dough, it will be in triangle shapes.  Next place the dough on top of the layered mixture with the pointy ends towards the center of the pan.  There should be eight triangles, and if you used a medium sized cast iron skillet or a 9 in baking dish, the crescent roll dough should cover the pie entirely.  Next bake for approximately 10 min, until the top of the pie is golden and crispy. Because Amy and I are always pressed for time, we eat this one pan dish by itself, but it could be served with salad, ranch style beans, corn or even cottage cheese.  I also discovered that the leftovers are great for breakfast served with a fried egg. 

Cost of Vaquero Pot Pie
1 lb ground beef – $0.99
(We found this on mega sale and froze it!)
RoTel Tomatoes – $1.76
Purple Onion – $1.10
Green Chilies – $0.97
Cheese – $0.40
Great Value Crescent Rolls – $1.86
Total Cost – $7.08 (Serves 3)
Cost Per Person – $2.36
 

Dish up this southwestern style delight and enjoy dreaming of the Wild West.

Keep dreaming… Happy Trails ~ Anna-Lisa

