It’s spring time here, and I am praising the Lord. It has been a long cold winter and warm days are a God send! My family rodeo’s nearly all year long, but now that spring is in the air and green grass is growing, they are spending a lot more time in the practice pen. I am wishing I was there, but doing my best to just stay focused on my last month of school!


Last weekend I got to be with all my family, as well watch my sister Lydia (13) compete in her Texas Jr. High Regional Finals. I was so happy I was there when she and her mare, Billie, ran a 20.05 second run in the pole bending!!! Scream… I’m so proud of her, and the horse she and a friend trained!!! Watch out world, my sister is going to run a 19 second pole run before long!!!

Since my mind is in the practice pen with my family, I wanted to enjoy a meal that reminds me of what we eat all through the summer.  Ground beef steak with pepper jack cheese is quick and easy, and pretty darn tasty too! Pair it with my Tangy Cabbage Salad, steamed Broccoli and fresh Clementine’s and you have a light tasty meal for lunch or supper!

Hamburger Steak with Pepper Jack
1 lb. ground hamburger
½ tsp. garlic powder
½ tsp. salt
½ pepper
3 slices of pepper jack

On cutting board spread ground beef into a thin layer, sprinkle with your seasonings and mix together. Separate into three equal portions, and make three patties. You can’t mess this up, just make a ball and firmly pack it together.

Heat a skillet on medium heat, add a small amount of oil and cook the patties until done on both sides, for about 2-3 minutes on each side, or until your desired doneness. We do not recommend you eat hamburgers medium rare, that is reserved for steaks! However you do not have to get them so done they are dry. Plate and top with pepper jack while still hot. Yumm!

 I invented this salad a few weeks ago and love the fresh taste of vegetables and the easy balsamic vinegar dressing that is tangy and sweet with a touch of spice! The smaller the vegetable pieces the better it is!

Tangy Cabbage Salad
2 c. red cabbage chopped into small pieces
¾ c. cucumber chopped
½ c. grated carrots (I bought the bag of grated carrots, rough chop them so not extra long slices.
½ c. broccoli chopped small, head and stem together
1 orange bell pepper chopped
Tangy Dressing:
1 c. balsamic vinegar
¼ c. oil, vegetable is good
juice from 1 lemon
½ tsp. garlic powder
½ tsp. chili powder
½ tsp. salt
½ tsp. pepper
3-4 drops Tabasco
½ tsp. paprika
2 packets Truvia sweetener (any low calorie sweetener will work)

Mix well and pour over veggies. Let sit for 30 min. before serving, this will be great side dish for any summer meal.

Steamed Broccoli:
1 microwave safe bowl
½ cup water
1 T. butter
1 sm. broccoli head

Microwave on high for 5 minutes, or until your desired tenderness and I loved eating the meal with sweet clementine’s!  🙂

Cost of After Roping Ground Beef Steak
Ground Beef – $0.99
(We found it on Sale!)
Pepper Jack Cheese – $0.53
Broccoli – $1.58
Cabbage – $0.88
Cuccumbers – $2.00
Bell Pepper – $1.78
Carrots – $0.51
Vinegar – $1.00
Oil-$0.46
Lemon-$0.68
Seasonings (Including Tabasco & Truvia) – $1.00
Clemintine – $0.25
Total Cost-$ 11.66 (Serves Three)
Cost Per Plate – $3.88

***The salad was more expensive than the beef!!!

Happy Spring Everyone!!
~ Amy

