It’s Monday, only nine more days of school before finals start. Seems like it was only yesterday I moved off the ranch, but alas I’ve lived in Oklahoma for eight and a half months. The old saying time flies when you are having fun is a pretty true assessment. I can’t say I’ve had fun every day of school, but the friendships and the skills I have learned are priceless and make the hard times worth it.

This summer is going to be full of firsts for Anna-Lisa and I. I will be fulfilling a lifelong dream of working at American Quarter Horse Association as the Marketing Intern for the summer. I am so excited to work under my new boss Jennifer Hancock, as well as the rest of the AQHA Marketing Department. Quarter horses are another one of my loves. A good foundation bred quarter horse is one of the most beautiful sights in the world. I’m so excited and to top it off, I’ll get to live 70 miles from home! Y’all, you have NO IDEA how thrilling that prospect is for me! God is too good to me!

One of the great things is that I’ll get to cook in my parents awesome kitchen for the summer, and that thought is pretty exciting, because I have cooked in so many different kitchens this semester, that walking into a kitchen where you know where everything is sounding pretty sweet! It’s the simple things, like where the spatulas’ are and where the hot pad drawer is that you take for granted until you move from kitchen to kitchen. I know that probably sounds funny, but it is the simple thing like that not having to ask where things are that matter when you live on deadlines like this girl does. That’s why I love meals like I made yesterday, Stress Free Arm Roast is one of those meals that you love to eat, and love to prepare because you can be like me, cook dinner, do homework, laundry, and pack all at the same time.

Stress Free Arm Roast

1 Arm Roast
Montreal Steak Seasoning
Oil
Water
Crockpot

In a skillet heat a small amount of oil and pan and sear both sides of the roast. This is important to make a tasty roast is to sear it on both sides before you start cooking it. It seals in the juices and aids in keeping the flavor within the meat. I sear it on both sides for 3-5 minutes depending on the size of the roast, and how seared you want the outside. Sprinkle heavily with Montreal steak seasoning. This is a must have in my kitchen, I just love the flavor it gives to beef. I give it a heavy sprinkle on both sides before I place it in the Crockpot.

Crockpot’s are so easy, and I need to use them more. I have a small one that I cook small portions in, but I borrowed my friend Lin’s yesterday and it made this meal so much easier. A good Crockpot is going on my birthday list. 🙂

Put the roast in and add 4-5 cups of water depending on the size of the roast, because if not you’ll have the same mistake happen as we had last Sunday. Burned roast is not a pleasant sight, trust me!

Turn your Crockpot to high and cook for 3- 4 hours, or on low for 7 hours or until tender and falling apart. Arm is not my favorite cut for roast, but you can find a good buy on arm, and the flavor is great but sometimes it can be stringy even when it is cooked until is falling apart. The aroma will make you hungry and keep you going as you are doing your chores, knowing you are going to be eating like royalty for supper!

Take roast out of liquid and slice across the grain, small slices are best. Serve with Black-eyed peas with relish and deviled eggs for southern comfort meal.

The Brown Family Tradition of Black-eyed Peas and Relish 

The story behind how my great grandmother found out about serving black-eyed peas with relish is a unanswered mystery in my family. I called and asked my grandparents so I could share with y’all, but they could not verify exactly, it is speculated that Jessie, a woman who moved from Tennessee to work for my Granny Brown in the 1930’s brought the recipe with her, however we don’t know. Guess you could just call it a Brown family culinary myth! Haha But trust me, this is the only way to eat black-eyed peas! It is awesome and I promise you’ll love it!

Recipe: 
2 cans black-eye peas
½ onion chopped
2 med. tomatoes chopped
3 cups distilled vinegar
¾ tsp. salt
1 tsp. pepper

Drain the peas, and rinse in colander. I think this is important to rinse of the sodium from the canned peas this way, and it helps them to taste fresher and more appetizing than warming them in the juice from the can. Pour black-eyed peas in a soup pot, cover completely in fresh water and simmer for a few minutes on medium low heat until warmed through.   

For the relish, chop up tomatoes and onions, cover with vinegar and stir in seasonings. Allow to sit for at least 15 minutes for tomatoes and onions to absorb some of the vinegar and serve on top of black-eyed peas. The vinegar makes the peas taste great, and the onions and tomatoes just complete the flavor of this southern staple.

Deviled Eggs

6 eggs
1 T. mayonnaise
1 T. mustard (original, spicy brown or Dijon all taste great)
salt and pepper
½ tsp. vinegar
paprika  

Boil and peal eggs. Slice along the length of the egg, use a spoon to scoop out the yolk. Mix together in a bowl. The above recipe is a staple, but you can add anything from minced onions, Tabasco, pickle relish, or horseradish. Anything you have on hand and want to add is great. Be brave and try something you’ve never done before. Spoon the mixture back into the eggs and serve chilled.

Enjoy a great meal, with very little effort! Have a great week and enjoy the warmth of spring!

~Amy

Cost:
Roast = $3.79/lb = $7.50
Black-eyed Peas = $.84/can = $1.68
Tomatoes = $0.86/piece = $1.72
Onion = $1.00/half = $0.50
Eggs = $1.55/18 x 6 = $0.48
Vinegar = $1.55/6 = $0.50
Misc. Seasonings = $1.00
Mustard and Mayonnaise = $0.50
Total = $13.88/4 = $3.47 a plate

