Happy Friday!  This is the last day of classes for Amy and I.  Finals are next week and then the summer road will lead us both west.  Amy to Amarillo, Texas and I am headed way out west, home sweet home!  This week we are heading North to Hayes, South Dakota.  We hope that you enjoy this message from Lura Kirkpatrick!

My name is Lura M.H. Kirkpatrick. I live and work on our ranch with my husband, Donny, of 28 years near Hayes, SD. We have two children, Mindy who is 26 and Wacey who is 24.

We are very lucky in the fact that both of our children are able to help us on the ranch whenever they are not working their other jobs; and boy, do we appreciate their help. We raise Red Angus cattle and Quarter Horses. I actually grew up on a buffalo ranch and was raised eating buffalo meat, but have been eating wonderful home raised beef since we got married.

Now, a little about how I keep this family fed, which sometimes can be a challenge when I work outside tending to the cattle and horses most of the time. We love our home raised beef and I probably cook with beef 6 days a week. I budget about $350 a month for groceries. This doesn’t include beef as we raise our own Red Angus beef, but it does include the processing fee. I feel that anyone can save money if they have freezer room by purchasing a quarter, half, or whole beef at a time. It is really nice to be able to tell the butcher just how you would like to have it cut up. I have our beef processed in many different cuts, including some canning meat. Canned beef is a great “fix it fast” food and can be done in many different ways. I probably use ground beef the most, since it is pretty fast and versatile to use just because I am not in the house that much. I struggle with ribs, but I have a wonderful recipe for ribs. It takes two days to cook them, so you have to plan ahead. I think you can save money also by using coupons. The most effective way to use them is in conjunction with sales. Also stick to your list, just because you have a coupon doesn’t mean you have to use it. I have included a recipe for Macaroni Pizza that my family loves, and I also included the rib recipe that I mentioned above. Enjoy everyone!

Macaroni Pizza
1 ½ cups dry macaroni
½ cup milk
1 egg
½ tsp garlic salt
Cook & drain macaroni. Beat milk, egg, & garlic salt together. Blend into macaroni and spread into a 7X11 inch casserole dish.

1 lb. hamburger
1 small onion, chopped
1 – 15 oz can tomato sauce
½ tsp Italian seasoning
½ tsp garlic powder
½ tsp salt
½ tsp pepper
1 cup shredded Mozzarella cheese

Brown the hamburger & onion. Drain. Mix sauce, Italian seasoning, garlic powder, salt, & pepper into hamburger mixture. Simmer for a few minutes. Cover macaroni with the meat mixture. Cover with mozzarella cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 to 30 minutes. Or you can heat it in the microwave for about 10 minutes.

Bar BQ Ribs
Rub Morton’s Tender Quick onto both sides of ribs and refrigerate overnight in a baggie. Rinse off the Tender Quick and put into a Crockpot. Cover with water and ½ bottle of liquid smoke. Cook 8 hours on high. Drain. You can refrigerate or freeze these at this point for use at a later date if you like. Cover with your favorite barbeque sauce and grill or cook in the oven until thoroughly heated. Finger licking good!

Thank you Lura!  We love to hear these stories and we hope that you enjoy reading them!  Have a great weekend y’all!

Happy Trails ~ Anna-Lisa

