It’s May, and we have a special plan for this month’s Monday posts –

Tribute to the Mom’s

My Mom, Talley Brown, is a lady among women! I love her beyond any words I could write, and every time I think of her, I smile. She defines Hero for me, and I love her!

She is a wife, a mother, a friend, a sister, an aunt, a saint. She is the definition of a cowgirl and loves being a rancher’s daughter, and a rancher’s wife. Mom has done a fantastic job being a mother to myself and my six siblings. Yes, I’m the eldest of seven children and that is why she is a saint, she has the GRACE to put up with three stubborn and headstrong girls and four hardheaded and ornery boys.

My mom has risen above the call of duty and home educated all of us because she wanted us to receive the best that she could offer. She wanted all of us to be  firmly rooted in our faith, strong in our convictions and know that there is nothing we cannot do because we have Jesus on our side and always her love and support. 

My mom is always practical, and is not an extravagant cook. She would much rather be outside, at the barn, in the practice pen, or working in the yard or in the  garden; so when she cooks she wants it to not take long, and be easy to clean up. When she cooks, she chooses things that are fast, easy and always yummy, and she really loves one dish meals.

I wanted to share with a meal that is my mom’s known for. I love them, and I think you will too!

Mom’s Tostado’s and Quick Sopapia’s

12 tostado’s shells
1 pound ground beef
1 can refried beans
2 cups grated cheddar cheese
1 ½ cup chopped Bok Choy, leaves and stem
1 cup grated purple cabbage
½ cup diced onions
½ cup diced tomatoes
Chopped Cilantro
Mexican Seasoning of Choice


Cook ground beef until done, season to taste. I like to add a few tablespoons of cilantro right before the meat is done. Drain if needed and on a cookie sheet, layout tostado shells, and with a spatula or knife spread beans onto shells. Add the meat on top of beans, and sprinkle heavily with cheese. Put in a 350 degree oven for 10 min.

Take out and add veggies on top. We love it with Bok Choy, because it gets sweet when it is in the oven and cooked like that. The cabbage is also very tasty on top too. Put back in the oven and cook for another 7-10 min. Serve with guacamole and chips.

Quick Sopapia’s
1 can generic canned biscuits.
Oil
Frying Pan
Cinnamon Sugar
Melted Butter
Honey

(Mom said to always buy generic when making sopapia’s. they fry better, not for sure why, but it’s is easier on the budget!)

 In a small skillet, add 2-3 cups of oil, or enough to have 3 inches of oil in the bottom. Heat until it is hot, but not boiling.

Take each biscuit and pull apart at the layers into 2 thin pieces. Add to oil, and let it fry on both sides until golden brown. Don’t let it burn, it does not take long to fry these 1-2 min on each side.

Take out and roll in cinnamon sugar, lay on paper towel. When you serve, melt butter and pour over sopopia’s melted butter and honey. Serve hot, it’s fantastic and so yummy, I promise you! You will eat to many of them, I promise!! 🙂

Cost Breakdown
Ground Beef- $3.57
Tostada Shells – $1.96
Tomatoes- $0.75
Onion- $0.62
Red Cabage- $0.60
Bok Choy- $0.30
Cilantro- $0.20
Cheddar Cheese- $1.10
Beans- $0.46
Quacamole- $1.85
Chips- $1.60
Biscuts- $1.18
Oil- $0.30
Spices- $1.00
Total Cost-$15.65 (Serves 4)
Cost Per Plate – $3.91

I hope you enjoy a meal that reminds me of my momma, I would love to hear about the food that reminds you of your mom.

Happy May, Happy Mother’s Month!

– Amy

