Good Wednesday afternoon!  Things are wrapping up for Amy and I as the school year comes to an end.  Amy is taking her last final today and mine is in the morning!  Oh the relief I will feel after I have completed my Stocker and Feedlot Cattle Production final and prepare to head west Friday morning.  It has been a whirlwind of a semester, so many new things happened for Amy and me.  As the semester closes and we prepare to head to our summer destinations, I can’t help but to be reminded of how fortunate we are.  I am so thankful to be able to spend my summer amongst my family who I don’t get to see nearly enough.  I am so excited for the fun things we have planned for beefonabudget.com this summer!  New adventures and recipes from coast to coast and oh the stories we will have to tell I am sure!  This recipe was derived from a meal I remember my mother making.  It is quick, easy, can be served alone or with a salad and is pretty tasty!  Get excited to learn to make this Green Bean Beef Wreath!    

Green Bean Beef Wreath

2 lbs Ground Beef

1 Can Green Beans

1 Can Cream of mushroom soup

2 Cans Wop & Pop Crescent Rolls

Salt & Pepper to taste

Brown the ground beef in a skillet.  Once the ground beef has browned add the can of green beans (drained of course) then add the cream of mushroom soup and salt and pepper to taste.  Mix this together.  On a cookie sheet lay out the crescent rolls in a circle with the widest part toward the center.  Pour the ground beef mixture along the center of the circle.  Then pull the narrow corners into the middle, wrapping the ground beef with crescent roll.  Bake at 350˚for 15 – 20 min or until the crescent rolls are golden brown. Slice into pieces and serve!

This is a great stand alone meal, however,  I served it with a simple salad and some left over macaroni and cheese.  This 30 minute meal is perfect for those busy days when you are on the go, and also makes great leftovers!

Green Bean Wreath Costs

3 lbs Ground Beef – $5.30 (We bought this in bulk)

Green Beans – $0.85

Cream of Mushroom Soup – $1.05

2 Cans Crescent Rolls – $3.30

Salad – $3.00

Total Costs – $13.50 (Serves 8 )

Cost Per Plate – $1.68

Enjoy this beautiful day!  I’m off to finish packing, cleaning and studying!

Happy Trails! ~ Anna-Lisa

