Hey Y’all,
Its all ready been a whirlwind month and it is only the 7th of May! WOW! We hope you enjoy our profile for today of Sandy Self. She did a great job, her recipe sounds so yummy.

We have some more exciting things that are in the planning stages for BeefonaBudget.com for the summer, and we are both looking forward to having a little more time to spend on the website and cooking now that school will not be taking up as much time.

 Enjoy learning a little more about Sandy, and cook up some great Beef Stronanoff!

Don’t forget, Mother’s Day is Sunday!!! Praise the Lord for Mom’s and hope y’all enjoy the rest of Mom’s month here on BeefonaBudget.com!

~Amy

Hello, my name is Sandy Morris Self and I am a Panhandle raised girl, Wellington, Texas to be exact! I grew up being a farmer’s daughter and loved every minute of it except when I was picking up stumps when Dad was breaking in new ground. And that really only happened once after I had begged my dad to take me with him. I lasted one day and that was enough. After that, I stayed home and helped my mother do the cooking to sometimes feed the hands but mostly the family.

That was the one thing my dad wanted to make sure of………that my sister and I learned to cook because when he and my mom married, she couldn’t cook at all! She had spent her early years in life working in the fields and had never learned to cook. As dad used to tell us, she could not boil water and he meant it! So I have been cooking since I could stand in a chair and stir the pots. As I got older I was responsible for cooking many meals for our family. I was the baby of three and everyone else was out working during the summer so my job was to do the house managing and that meant cooking lunch every day, which I truly loved!

Growing up, we almost always had beef on the table. Mom would occasionally stray from it but not too often, dad was a beef man, and what dad wanted, dad got, because that’s just how it was at our house.

 

I now live in Throckmorton, Texas and have been here for 22 years. I am a single mom and  I have one son, Ty, who is fourteen and eats a lot! He always wants beef so I cook beef most days  (when we are at home that is).  We have a wonderful little grocery store here in Throckmorton, Coalson’s Cash and Carry, that has the most wonderful meat market around and that is where I purchase my beef when I run out of home grown beef raised by my brother or friends that are always willing to help me feed this teenage boy of mine.

 

I am a true believer in cooking once and eating twice so we do that quite a bit, especially since Ty is involved in every sport possible. I also love to cook for large groups of my friends whether it is lasagna, manicotti, Mexican food or burgers on the grill. On days that I am really busy or have to stay late at school I have my old stand by, Beef Stroganoff. It can be made in a snap, is very inexpensive and it is a cook once, eat twice recipe which makes it even better for me!

Beef Stroganoff

1 ½ lbs hamburger meat

1 can beef broth

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 8 oz carton sour cream

1 pkg of egg noodles ( any noodle)

 Brown and drain hamburger meat. Add salt and pepper to taste. Add beef broth and soup. Simmer for about 5 minutes. Right before you are ready to serve, add the carton of sour cream. Serve over cooked noodles.

Serve with toasted french bread and steamed green beans.

Cost breakdown:    

Ground Beef – $2.15
Beef Broth – $1.10
Cream of Mushroom Soup – $0.89
Sour Cream – $2.10
Egg Noodles – $1.53
French Bread – $2.00
Green Beans – $1.30
Total: $11.07Serves 4 = $2.76 a plate

 

