What a gorgeous afternoon!  If you haven’t already noticed, I love spicy food!  Anything with a Southwestern influence and some heat I love!  You might have also noticed that I fry things often.  Well one of my favorite summer suppers to fix is Cowboy Tacos!  I love them, they are huge, delicious, super quick and very cheap!  You might wonder why I call them “Cowboy” tacos.  Well, every cowboy I have ever met has a huge appetite, really any man I have ever met who works hard outside has a large appetite and these are just the thing to satisfy them after a long day’s work!

Cowboy Tacos

1 1/2 lbs ground beef
2 cups shredded ice burg lettuce
3 sliced Roma tomatoes
1 avocado sliced
3 cups shredded cheddar cheese
Burrito size tortillas
Oil & Seasonings

 

Brown the ground beef.  Add taco seasoning, salt, pepper, garlic, and cyan pepper (if you have it on hand).  Add a little bit of water to help blend the seasonings better.  Allow the ground beef to simmer until most of the liquid is gone.  While th0e ground beef is browning, start your hot oil in large skillet.  I love to fry tortillas in my cast iron because it is plenty big to fit them.  When the oil is hot, fry both sides of the tortilla, then with tongs fold it in half and continue to fry both sides.  Place them on a paper towel to drain off the excess oil.  Shred the lettuce and slice the tomatoes and the avocado.  When it is time for assembly, take one taco shell, fill it with taco meat, add shredded lettuce and sliced tomato and avocado and top with cheese.  These tacos are great alone or with chips.

Cost of Cowboy Tacos

1 1/2 lbs ground beef- $3.50
Burrito Size Tortillas- $1.10
Lettuce- $0.40
Tomatoes- $1.10
Avocado $0.79
Cheese- $1.60
Oil & Seasonings- $1.50
Total Costs- $9.99 (Serves 4 easily)
Cost per Plate- $2.49

 

Gather up your family and enjoy a great supper and the summer sunset!

Happy Trails~ Anna-Lisa

