Is it me or is this week flying by?  It is Wednesday and I can hardly believe it!  Today I am headed to the Folsom to further my education at the California Cattlemen & Cattlewomen joint Mid-Year Meeting!  I also have the opportunity to share with our directors about BeefonaBudget.com which is very exciting.  Ya know, I choose to live my life with 40 different irons in the fire, and often I don’t know which is hot enough to pull first.  I can tell you that the past 15 days I have learned that in order to maximize my time and use it wisely I need to actually use my calendar!  Quite a concept right!  Anyhow, as I am focused forward and working intently to reach my goals I am needing recipes that are speedy and delicious… and so became Speedy Beef Stir Fry!  A great one pan meal that is perfect for summer evenings, so schedule 30 min to prepare supper, head to the kitchen and gather your family!

Speedy Beef Stir Fry
1 lb Tenderized Sirloin Tip Steak
1 Package of Chinese Style Noodles
1 Small crooked neck squash sliced
1/2 yellow onion sliced
1/2 C sliced baby carrots
1 Sliced red bell pepper
1/2 C bean sprouts
Oil, Garlic Salt, Chili powder, stir fry seasoning

I use Sirloin Tip Steak, I ask the butcher to run it through the tenderizer twice, which will help to ensure tenderness because tip steaks generally don’t have very much marbling.  Season the steak with garlic salt and chili powder.  In a large skillet pour a little oil, then cook the steak on medium high heat until it reaches your desired degree of doneness.  While the steak is cooking go ahead and slice all of the vegetables.  After the steak is done, remove it from the skillet, but be sure to leave all of the oil and fat in the pan, you will need it later! In that same pan, add all of the vegetables, and let them cook for a bit (a few minutes) then add the raw chinese noodles.  Stir fry this mixture together!  Some people prefer to boil the noodles first, but in my experience I prefer them stir fried raw.  After you have let the steak rest for at least 5 min, slice it into bit size pieces.  It is important to let beef rest because not only does it help it to retain it’s juices, but it also allows the steak to become evenly done through out.  At this time add the sliced steak to the stir frying mixture.  Next, add the stir fry seasoning and stir it through well.  Let the stir fry sit for a few minutes and then serve!

Costs of Speedy Beef Stir Fry
0.89 lb Tenderized Sirloin Tip Steak- $3.10
1 Package of Chinese Style Noodles- $2.70
1 Small crooked neck squash sliced- $0.68
1/2 yellow onion sliced- $0.40
1/2 C sliced baby carrots- $0.30
1 Sliced red bell pepper-$0.60
1/2 C bean sprouts- $0.30
Oil, Garlic Salt, Chili powder, stir fry seasoning- $1.00
Total Costs – $9.08 (Serves 3 easily)
Cost per plate- $3.02

I hope that you enjoy this delicious quick supper!  I will keep you up to date about what I learn at the meetings this week…I hope y’all have a blessed week!

Happy Trails,

~ Anna-Lisa

