Good Monday morning Y’all!  I hope that you all had a great Father’s Day weekend.  Mine was wonderful, although I wasn’t home with my Daddy.  My sister and I drove to Morgan, Utah, on Friday to spend some time with family.  My uncle Bob is in the U.S. Air Force and Utah is the closest his family has ever lived to us so we were very happy to make the 11 hour drive to spend a few days with them.  One of the neat things about this site is that our readers get a chance to learn with us.  We are by no means a beef expert, while we both have eaten and cooked a lot of beef in our short lifetimes, we have a lot to learn.  I hope you don’t mind learning with us!  That being said, a few weeks ago I posted a rib recipe.  It was ok, if any of you tried it please let me know what you thought.  I wasn’t all too pleased with the results and I am always open to learning new techniques to improve my cooking skills, fortunately, Uncle Bob is always willing to teach!  So here it goes, round two!  I promise you this technique is far superior to the previous ribs.  My only hang up is using sauce, so there may be ribs round three at some point but I’ll try to hold off a while so you don’t get sick of reading about my rib experiments!  These ribs were so tender that my cousin Joesi, she’s 2, was able to enjoy them with the rest of the family!

Beef Ribs – Round II
2 Packages Beef Ribs- Apprx. 6 lbs
1 Bottle Your Favorite BBQ Sauce
7 Ears Sweet Corn

Cut apart the ribs.  Be sure to use a sharp knife, Dad always told me that you can more easily cut yourself with a dull knife than a sharp one.  While you are cutting the ribs apart start a large pot of water on the stove.  You are going to par boil these ribs, that was the oh so important step that I missed last time!  Once the water is boiling place the ribs in the boiling water and let them boil for an hour or so.  After about an hour, turn off the burner and let the ribs sit in the hot water for about 20 minutes.  At this time you can skim off the floating fat and the drain the rest of the water off of the ribs.  At this time, season them with a little salt and pepper and then cover them with the BBQ sauce.  At this time let’s head to the grill!  Get your grill real hot, place the ribs on the grill and sear all sides of them, then lower the heat to let them cook through.  Keep in mind they are already cooked so it won’t take long on the grill.  Also note that because we par boiled the ribs, the BBQ sauce left in the pan does not need to be wasted!  After the ribs come off the grill pour the remaining BBQ sauce on the ribs.  So tasty!  I promise you the boiling is key, you may be doubting me right now, but please try it!  Let me know what you think too!  Ribs are fun to eat with just about anything but we had fresh sweet corn with them!  When it comes to pairing sides with ribs, I like to stick to the finger food groups, so fun!

When preparing fresh sweet corn, there are several ways to do it.  I ljust boil it, this is the fool proof method!  You really can’t mess up boiling corn, which is why I like to do it that way!  I then cut the ears in half because I think it stretches them further.  Serve steaming hot with butter!

Beef Ribs – Round II Costs
6 lbs Beef  Ribs – $12
1 Bottle BBQ Sauce – $3.20
7 Ears Fresh Corn- $3.50
Total Costs – $18.7 (Serves 8)
Cost per plate- $2.33

I hope that you enjoy this new tip!  I challenge you to make time to spend with your family this summer.  I don’t get to see mine much and I promise you the kids keep growing even when you don’t see them!

Happy Trails,

Anna-Lisa

