Good morning all!  Last week I had the privilege of going to speak to the board of directors of the California CattleWomen about what we are doing here on BeefonaBudget.com, as well as the importance of telling our story to consumers.  It was such a blast.  I was surrounded by amazing women who are passionate about our industry and the ranches they help to operate.  After my short presentation I was visiting with a few ladies over coffee (a must during any meeting in my opinion).  One of the ladies I met is from a ranch on the desert of southeastern California, her name is Kate and she had some great tips for me.  I decided to implement one of Miss Kate’s tips into today’s recipes and combine it with some of my other favorite NO MESS, STRESS RELIEVING recipes!  So today, there is NO mess, we are relieving STRESS and I am pretty excited!

No mess, Stress Relieving Grilled Beef Roast
1 Top Round Roast
Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder
Grill, Iron Skillet, Wax Paper

Place the roast on a sheet of wax paper, make sure that the paper is long enough to be able to come back over the top of the roast.  Cover the top of the roast with the excess wax paper, take the biggest black iron skillet that you have and in Kate’s words “beat the blazes out of that darn roast!”  Now girls, this is the stress relieving part!  GO AHEAD take out all your aggression from the work week on the roast!  After you have beat on the roast a bit, it is time for seasoning it.  I will let you in on a few secrets during this post, one of them is proper roast seasoning.  See, my Dad makes the best Tri Tip roast I have ever eaten, I learned to season beef from him….so just trust me!  All you need is salt, pepper and garlic powder.  Cover the roast in all three seasonings.  Don’t be afraid to over season because some of the excess will drip off into the coals with the fat that drips off the roast.  At this point, rub the seasonings ever so gently into the meat.  This extra lovin’ really does make a difference I promise!  Now, let the meat rest while you get the grill hot and prepare your No Mess Squash!

NO MESS SQUASH!
2 Yellow Cricked Neck Squash
1 Mexican Squash
1/2 Walla Walla Onion Sliced
1 Stick of Butter
Tin Foil

Slice the squash and onion semi thin. Place two pieces of tin foil over lapping.  Spread the sliced squash and onion on the foil.  Slice the stick of butter and place throughout the squash.  Season with salt, pepper & garlic powder.  We are keeping it simple y’all!  Place another piece of tin foil over the top and roll up the sides so that no butter or steam can leave.  Then it’s time to head to the grill.

Take both the roast and the squash to the grill.  The tin foil sack of squash can just go on the grill no fuss.  With the roast, turn the heat up real high, sear both sides, then turn the heat back down and let the roast cook until your desired degree of doneness.  Then remove from the grill, let it rest of course, and slice against the grain!  So tasty!  The squash can be served out of the tin foil sack, there is no need to dirty extra dishes.  I served this with fresh sliced and salted tomatoes…. delicious!

Now I couldn’t help but to post this next secret recipe because well, when I think of relaxation I think of sweet tea, the front porch and a gorgeous sunset and this is HANDS DOWN the best sweet tea recipe I have come across in my 21 years!  This recipe comes from a dear friend in Russellville, Arkansas.  Her mother used to fix sweet tea this way and she gave the recipe to me last summer when I first experienced its sheer bliss!  I only thought it fitting to include this with the stress relieving and no mess recipes above.  So here you are dear readers… just for you I am revealing this precious secret….

Faithful Friends Sweet Tea
4 tea bags
2 C boiling water
1 – 1 1/2 C Sugar
1 T Vanilla
1 T Almond
1/3 C  Lemon Juice
2 Qts Water

Bring 2 C water to a boil on the stove.  Place the tea bags in the hot water and let it steep for about 15 minutes.  Then add sugar, vanilla, and almond.  Stir until all the sugar has dissolved.  At this point add 2 Qts of water to the mixture and pour into your tea pitcher.  Stir in 1/3 C Lemon juice.  Chill and then serve over ice with a sprig of fresh mint for ultimate relaxation!

No Mess, Stress Relieving Grilled Beef Roast Supper Costs
1 Top Round Roast- $7.50
2 Yellow Cricked Neck Squash- $3.00
1 Mexican Squash- $1.79
1/2 Walla Walla Onion Sliced -$0.40
1 Stick of Butter- $0.50
Tomatoes- $1.50
Seasonings, Including Sugar, Vanilla, Almond & Tea- $1.50
Total Costs- $16.19 (Serves 4)
Cost per Plate- $4.04

I hope that you have enjoyed reading this post as much as I enjoyed writing it and preparing the meal!  There is no better way to wind down from the week than with great food, good company, delicious sweet tea and a front porch sunset!  Enjoy some down time and summer bliss!

Happy Trails,

~ Anna-Lisa

