FRIDAY has come my friends!  I hope that all is well wherever you are!  We received a summer rain shower last night, what a blessing!  I was thinking about fat burning foods this week and I was ruminating over the fact that just recently lean beef was placed on the list of fat burning foods.  Isn’t that exciting!  You see I have always believed beef to be healthy, I never questioned it, but now we have a place to stand to tell the world just how healthy it is!  I think that is wonderful!  I say that I was ruminating over it with a smirk because ,well, it is just so fitting!  FAT Burning Steak Salad is just that… a salad, with steak that will burn fat!  So my train of thought went like this…. I LOVE STEAK, it burns fat, I like cabbage, it burns fat, I have a few sticks of celery, it burns fat, oh look I have a can of mandarin oranges, they burn fat, what kind of salad would it be without green chillies, oh look toasted almonds, they burn fat, you get the picture….I just threw this together on a whim through the pantry.  It turned out marvelous so I thought I would share it!  That’s the beauty of this whole deal, some of the recipes you read are the kind that I dream up with laying in bed while I can’t sleep and some of them are just pure and innocent off the cuff experimentation.  SO FUN!  So sit down, squat down or lie down… but make yourself comfortable cause this one is a doozy!

Fat Burning Steak Salad
1 Tenderized Round Steak
1 Cup Red Cabbage
4 leaves of romaine lettuce
1 can mandarin oranges
1 small can green chillies
1/2 C feta cheese
1/4 C toasted Almonds
3 Sticks of celery chopped
Salt, Pepper, Garlic, Chilli Powder, Oil

 

I cooked the steak on the stove top for the post, but go ahead and grill it if you want to!  It would be wonderful grilled!  So season the steak…keeping it simple of course, salt, pepper and garlic.  In a large skillet heat a teaspoon of oil, then sear both sides of the steak in the oil.  After both sides are seared continue to cook to your desired degree of doneness.  At this point let it rest while you prepare the rest of the salad.  Slice the romaine lettuce into small pieces, shred the red cabbage and combine them in a colander.  Rinse them both again…just for conscious sake!  Then chop the celery and add it.  Add in the almonds and the feta.  Toss this together.  Next we are going to add the oranges and chillies and then fix the dressing.  So drain the oranges and chillies into the same bowl, we want to keep the juice!  Then you can go ahead and add them to the salad.  Then to the juice add 1 T vinegar and 1 T oil. Stir rapidly.  Then add 1/4 T of chilli powder.  Stir rapidly again.  At this time slice the steak thin, remember to slice across the grain of course!  Add the steak to the salad.  Then pour the dressing over the top while stirring it rapidly to ensure even distribution of oil and vinegar!  I promise you this will be a crowd pleaser and will make you feel so good about what you are eating!  Gather the family and sit outside to enjoy a summer sunset and this great meal!

Fat Burning Steak Salad
1 Tenderized Round Steak -$3.10
1 Cup Red cabbage $0.25
4 leaves of romaine lettuce$0.30
1 can mandarin oranges- $0.78
1 small can green chillies- $0.98
1/2 C feta cheese- $1.78
1/4 C toasted Almonds- $0.60
3 Sticks of celery chopped- $0.30
Salt, Pepper, Garlic, Chilli Powder, Oil, Vinegar- $0.50
Total Costs- $8.59 (Serves 4)
Cost Per Plate- $2.14

So Fast, So Easy & SO AFFORDABLE! I hope you enjoyed this post… I know that I did!  I hope that you have a great weekend and take summer for all she has to offer!

Happy Trails,

~Anna-Lisa

P.S. – Get excited because our first BeefonaBudget.com video is coming very, very soon and we can’t wait to meet you!

