Good Morning!  Today is an exciting day!  I get to move in to my new house and meet my new roommate!  SO FUN!  The past two weeks have been a whirlwind of double yellow lines and black top (hence the lack of photos lately), but things are starting to settle a bit, that is until I am back on the road this weekend.  I often wonder if things will ever slow down, but then I think about it and realize…NO WAY!  My mentor told me last night, “Honey, that is just your pace of life, you have a lot of things going, and it seems that things will never slow down, but someday they will.”  We are very similar in the fact that we both burn the candle at both ends and have 40 different irons in the fire, but she is always quick to remind me that busy women get things done!  In amongst other things I have been house sitting for about a week and a half, so this post was created in another person’s kitchen which was a fun adventure!  These enchiladas are delicious, quick and easy… not to mention they are CHEAP!  So… get excited because no matter how busy you are I promise you can find 20 minutes to fix these delicious enchiladas and have supper with your family!

Enchiladas Rapido
1 lb. Ground Beef
1 can RoTel Tomatoes
1 can Black Beans
1 can Corn
1 can Green Enchilada Sauce
Corn Tortillas
2 Cups Shredded Cheese
Dashes of Cayenne Pepper, Garlic Salt, Black Pepper, Chili Powder, Onion Flakes, Cumin

Brown the ground beef in a large cast iron skillet, or any other large skillet.  Season the beef with the spices to your liking.  If you like them more spicy add more pepper, if you need a lower sodium alternative use less salt etc.  I love spicy food so I kicked mine up a notch with additional Cayenne Pepper!  Once the beef has browned, drain off the excess fat and add the can of RoTel tomatoes and the corn.  At this point the stove can be turned down to medium heat.  Rinse and drain the black beans, I hate the slim, so gross!  Mix them in as well.  In another skillet or griddle spray some non stick spray and heat the corn tortillas so they don’t rip with you fill them.  Using a spatula add filling to the middle of the tortilla and the roll and tuck the ends under the enchilada.  I do them rather full and four across so you end up with 8 enchilladas in the pan.  I have not found an easier way to get the tortillas warm, anyone have any ideas? Once all 8 of the enchiladas are in the pan I pour the green sauce over them and the top them with cheese.  At this point they can be baked for 10 minutes or so until the cheese has melted and begins to brown, remember everything else was already warm.  Dish out the enchiladas and serve them with your choice of sides, some of my favorites include chips and pico de gallo or a simple green salad.  Quick, affordable and delicious!

Enchiladas Rapido
1 lb. Ground Beef – $2.50
1 can RoTel Tomatoes- $1.10
1 can Black Beans- $0.70
1 can Corn- $0.90
1 can Green Enchilada Sauce- $2.00
8 Corn Tortillas – $1.00
2 Cups Shredded Cheese- $1.50
Assorted Spices – $1.00
Total Cost- $10.30 (Serves 4)
Cost Per Plate- $2.57

 I hope that this post has been helpful! I found it to be delicious, quick and at only $2.57 per person, I definitely consider it budget friendly!  I will leave you with one of my favorite quotes and I hope that it will inspire you as it does me each and every day! 

“I have a premonition that soars on eagles wings. It is a dream of your accomplishments of many wonderous things. I do not know beneath which sky or where you’ll challenge fate, I only know it will be high, I only know it will be great!” ~ Mary Kay Ash

Happy Trails,

~ Anna-Lisa

