Good Monday morning to y’all!  I hope that you are being blessed wherever you are today.  I am spending a few days with Amy’s siblings while she is helping her parents in Florida.  Not only am I enjoying the time that I get to spend with them (like my own sister, I don’t get to see them near enough), being on the ranch is a relief even if I have only been in town for two weeks now, it has been plenty enough time to be missing ranch country.  It’s hard to beat lookin out the kitchen window at pasture, whether it’s wild oats at home or sage here!  Amy’s sisters (Lydia, 13 & Amanda, 11) and I fixed these tacos for supper last night and they hit the spot so I thought I would share them with y’all!

Spicy Beef Tacos
1 lb. Ground Beef
Corn Tortillas
2 C Shredded Cheddar Cheese
Diced Onions
Diced Tomatoes
Shredded Lettuce
Salt, Pepper, Garlic Salt, Minced Garlic, Cayenne Pepper, Cumin, Paprika to Taste
Oil

In a large skillet begin to brown the ground beef.  During this time, fry the taco shells in canola oil.  Fry one side, flip it over, fold in half (fried side in) and fry the outsides.  Do this to all the tacos shells you will need, they are small so I usually plan on at least two per person, three if you are feeding boys.  Season the meat with the listed spices, to your taste.  I prefer spicy so I use extra cayenne pepper.  Brown the meat until it is cooked through. Dice the onions and tomatoes and shred the lettuce.  Then simply assemble! So easy so quick and very tasty!  We had them with Pico De Gallo and Chips, but you could serve them with a salad if you want to!

Spicy Beef Tacos Costs
1 lb. Ground Beef – $2.40
Corn Tortillas- $0.90
2 C Shredded Cheddar Cheese- $0.75
Diced Onions- $0.40
Diced Tomatoes- $1.00
Shredded Lettuce- $0.30
Spices & Oil – $1.00
Total Cost- $6.75 (Serves 6)
Cost Per Plate- $1.12

I also wanted to share a quick cookie recipe with y’all.  It is super simple, very affordable and all of the ingredients are common to have lying around.  They are easy peanut butter cookies, I found the recipe in a cookbook that I have called Five Ingredients or Less, by Gooseberry Patch. So thank you Gooseberry Patch for sharing with BeefonaBudget.com!

EASY Peanut Butter Cookies
1 C Peanut Butter
1 C Sugar
1 Egg

Mix these three ingredients then roll the dough into a small ball and flatten with a fork making criss cross patterns on the top.  Bake for 10 min at 350.  Then let them cool on a wire cooling rack. 

These cookies are easy (Wheat Free) and I promise they will get gobbled up faster than you can bake them.  The girls and I also found they are great with coffee in the morning! ENJOY!

I hope your Monday was great!  Happy Trails,

~ Anna-Lisa

 
