Oh my goodness it is September 8th 2010 – school is in full swing and my life has been dominated by meetings! Within the first two weeks of school I had been to 12, and I have two tonight.

There are just so many different things I am passionate about, and know I’ll never be 23 again so want to do as many things as possible. This is something else I have learned from my PawPaw – live life to the fullest and just don’t look back.

One of the greatest things lately is I have my very own furnished kitchen! For my birthday Mimi gave me new Paula Dean copper bottom stainless steel pots and pans, and I cannot wait to cook delicious dishes in the coming months.

Last week on my one day I had time to cook, I invented a tasty new twist on quick chili. As the rain here in Oklahoma is bringing the fall, this twist on comfort food will warm you up and keep you going. Please let me know what you think and what new twists you are coming up with this fall!

Quick Cheesy Chili

2 c. chopped roast, diced (cooked)
12 oz. can stewed tomatoes, chopped
2-3 T chili seasoning
water as needed
4-6 mozzarella cheese sticks diced

Chop the cooked roast, add the entire can of tomatoes and chili seasonings and simmer on low for 10-15 minutes. (Add water if it start to stick) before serving, add the chopped cheese sticks and allow to melt slowly.

Dads Awesome Asparagus

1/2 bundle fresh asparagus spears
1/3 c. water
2-3 T. butter
Garlic salt
pepper, to taste

In a small saucepan steam asparagus spears for 8-10 min until tender. Drain, and add the rest of the ingredients. Allow butter to melt and shake your saucepan with lid on, so you coat the asparagus. The key to asparagus is not overcooking them. They are better undercooked, than overcooked. So just keep that in mind.

Parmesan toast

1-2 t. butter
Parmesan cheese
2 pieces of bread

Spread soft butter on your piece of bread, sprinkle with parmesan cheese and toast either in the oven or in a toaster oven until bread is toasted and cheese is golden. This is a yummy twist on the normal garlic bread. Same idea, just totally different taste. šŸ™‚

IĀ hope you enjoy this – and it is still Wednesday, even if it is 1o:50 at night. We are striving to be more consistentĀ with posting, pleaseĀ keep the faith, and keep coming back!

Enjoy the cooler weather!

~Amy

Cost:
Roast = 3.00
Tomatoes = 1.87
Seasoning = 0.22
Cheese = 0.77
Asparagus = 2.00
Butter = 0.95
Bread = 0.30
Total = $9.11/serves 2
Total cost per serving = $4.55

