I am warmly welcoming Friday this week!  Ready for a long-ish weekend to rejuvenate!  I have been looking forward to this post all week… it’s a keeper folks.  I am a lover of all things fall, the food, the colors, the coffee, the pumpkin, the cool weather, beautiful sunrises and sunsets, did I mention the food?  There is just something about coming into the house chilled and warming up with something hot to drink and a great meal.  I mean think about it soups, stews, squashes, roasts and the chili… my goodness the chili.  Anyway during the fall months I love to combine a good hot sandwich with tomato soup and one of my fall favorite sandwiches is the monte cristo sandwich.  If a cattleman invented a version of the monte cristo this is what I imagine it to be.  Sourdough bread, roast beef, jalapenos and cheese…. how could it be bad right!  So…. do yourself a favor and head to the kitchen…. fix The Monte Walsh… you won’t regret it I promise!

The Monte Walsh
3 eggs
6 pieces of sourdough bread
1/2 lb deli roast beef
Jalapeno jelly
Sliced Jalapenos
Cheddar Cheese

Whisk the eggs together in a bowl.  Soak the bread in the egg batter like you are fixing french toast. 

Spray a non stick skillet with pam and brown one side of the bread.

Flip the pieces over.  On one side spread Jalapeno jelly.

I used Knotts Berry farm jelly because it was what I found but feel free to use your favorite brand!

Next add a hefty layer of roast beef and sprinkle slices of jalapeno.

Next top with the cheese and close ‘er in with the other slice of bread.

Brown both sides, flipping the sandwich very carefully.  Serve hot alone or with soup!

The Monte Walsh Costs
3 eggs – $0.40
6 pieces of sourdough bread- $0.75
1/2 lb deli roast beef – $3.50
Jalapeno jelly- $1.00
Sliced Jalapenos- $0.35
Cheddar Cheese- $1.20
Total Costs – $7.20 (Serves 3)
Cost Per Plate – $2.40


I hope that you enjoyed this new twist on an old classic… I sure enjoyed creating it!  I promise this will leave your guys quoting Monte Walsh himself…

“When we get through… you’re gonna want to take a nap, sit on the porch and wait for the mares to come callin” ~ Tom Selleck, Monte Walsh.

Happy Trails!

~Anna-Lisa

