It is 8:30 in the evening, and I am just now finding time in my crazy Monday to post! I wanted to share one of those asked-for comfort foods that my family loves me to make. 🙂 Mom has called me atleast twice in the last six months asking the steps to making this dish, ‘just one more time, so I don’t skip one…’

I really don’t know how, or why I make fried rice like this – but it works for me. I like how it taste’s and, so does my family.

The veggies you add does not matter, add what you have and gather your family and enjoy some warm comfort food!

You’ll need:

1 iron skillet (it cooks the best in an iron skillet, brown’s the rice so much better)
1/2 onion large chopped
oil
2 cups quick cooking rice (uncooked, white’s my favorite – but brown is good too)
2 T. minced garlic, dried
1-12 oz can broth (a good beef broth is good if it doesn’t have a lot of seasonings – chicken broth is good because it does not have weird seasonings – but use what you have)
3/4 c. water
soy sauce
2 cups fresh veggies – broccoli, sugar snap peas and shredded carrots are my favorite.
2 cups cooked beef – chopped roast, chopped sirloin or sliced-thin round steak or flank steak
pepper to taste

 

In a large iron skillet, (that a lid will fit) get hot, add a few teaspoons oil and saute onions until nearly tender. Add the dry rice and ‘fry’ in a small amount of oil. Just enough to keep it from sticking. I add a few teaspoons at a time, and stir regularly to keep the rice from burning. The onions will start getting dark, along with the rice. The longer you cook the rice without water, the less sticky the rice will be. I cook for atleast 8 min. sometimes longer, depending on time and if the rice is sticking bad in the skillet or not. Half way through cooking, add the dried minced garlic and stir in completely. Add soy sauce – I like the strong flavor of soy sauce – but some people don’t. Add atleast a few teaspoons.

When you feel like the rice will burn if it stays any longer without liquid – pour in broth and water. (The steam coming up can burn you – so be careful, it gets really hot) stir a couple of times, turn down heat to medium/low and top with the lid.

While cooking, chop or shred your veggies depending on what you have. You can use frozen stir-fry veggies. They do not taste as great – but work when you don’t have fresh on hand. Add to the rice, and add more liquid as needed. Allow to cook until rice is tender along with veggies. I don’t like vegetables over-cooked! I think it is a quick way to ruin them. So I like them still crisp, but not raw.

Chop the cooked beef of your choice – allow to get warm by stirring in the rice and veggies mixture for a few minutes. Add pepper to taste.  Serve in large bowl’s with spoons for a fun, something different evening meal. 

I have never had left-overs at home, everyone eats until the skillet is clean! I really think you will enjoy it too. The secret is ‘frying’ the rice long enough and seasoning to your liking – if you don’t like strong flavors, don’t add as much garlic and soy sauce – or if you like very strong flavors add more.

Tell me what your family says! I’d love to hear! 🙂

Blessings to you,
Amy

Cost:
onion = $0.50
rice = $0.85
broth = $2.10
veggies = $2.08
soy sauce = $1.76
beef 2 cups = $3.00
Total = $10.29/4 = $2.57 a serving

