It’s Oklahoma State homecoming week! The campus is orange – and my week already seems like it has been going on for multiple days, instead of just the evening of Monday!

This is my second as well as my last Cowboy Homecoming – but I must say I am looking forward to spending it with dear friends, a great college and awesome autumn weather.

Tomorrow is the Harvest Carnival, and every CASNR club has games and a chili cook-off competition. This year, as Social Chair of Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow, I volunteered to help my professor out and cook the chili. One of my professors got married last weekend, and is currently on his honeymoon. He was going to cook last week, while he had a house full of family and friends coming in from Texas – and I thought that was ridiculous. So – here is a downsized version of the 10 lbs. I made last night.

It tasted great, and hopefully ACT wins tomorrow! Fingers crossed, that the judges like my version of this fall favorite.

You’ll need:

3 lbs. ground beef, cooked and drained
1 lg. onion chopped
3 ½ tsp. chili powder
2 ½ tsp. salt
¾ tsp. garlic powder
¾ tsp. black pepper
½ tsp. cumin ground
3 T. vinegar
3 – 1 lb. can tomato sauce
2 cups water

In large stew pot, add all ingredients to cooked/drained ground beef. Allow to simmer on low for atleast 45 min, but the longer chili cooks the better it is! Just make sure it does not stick to the bottom, and add more water if you feel it is getting to dry.

A secret at the Brown Gangs house is Chili, Chips, Cheese and Rice – it is awesome, fantastic and the only way I like to eat chili! Layer on the bottom of your bowl in this order:

Crushed Frito’s
Cooked Rice
Chili
Cheese
and jalapeño’s if you like on top, along with a hearty appetite, and you’ll be satisfied!  I promise, it’s that good!

Pistol’s Firing,
Amy

Cost:
beef = $2.89/lb = $8.67
seasonings = $2.10
onion = $1.86
tomato sauce = $4.16
Total = $18.89/5 = $3.77

