One thing that I love about college is meeting new friends.  My new roomate Amanda introduced me to this recipe and its great!  These beef, cabbage and onion pastries are a great substitute for sandwiches in lunches or like we did with the leftovers it can make a great casserole dish for a quick supper.  This is one of my new fall favorites, its easy filling and super hearty. Hope you enjoy!

Beef Burox
1 lb Carne Picada or Ground Beef
1 C shredded onion
1 C shredded cabbage
1 C shredded cheddar cheese
1 pizza dough crust

Brown the beef in a skillet.  Drain off the excess fat.  In a pot add water, the beef, onion and cabbage.  Season it with a lot of salt, pepper and Tony Chacheries or your favorite creol seasoning.  Let this mixture cook down for at least 30 minutes.  Roll out your pizza dough and cut it into 3 in squares.  Put a small layer of cheese on the dough, then a tablespoon of the meat mixture.  Roll up the dough around the meat and bake for as long as the pizza dough intstructs.  Most likly near 15 minutes or until they are golden brown.  Serve with steamed vegetables or a small salad.  When I prepared this I made twice a double batch.  With one batch I made the pastries which freeze great for lunches.  With the second batch I made a casserole.   This way I kill two birds with one stone.  Lunches are made and supper is too!  To make the casserole simply line the bottom of the pan with your dough, add the cheese and meat and top with the dough again.  Delicious!

Beef Burox
1 lb Carne Picada or Ground Beef- $3.40
1 C shredded onion- $0.50
1 C shredded cabbage- $0.25
1 C shredded cheddar cheese- $0.25
1 pizza dough crust- $1.50
Total Cost – $5.90 (Serves 4)
Cost per plate – $1.47
 

 

I’m heading out the door to the Greatest Homecoming on Earth! Go Pokes!  Happy Trails,

~ Anna-Lisa

