Good evening everyone! I am excited about today’s post.  For the month of November I will be cooking with a roast for each Friday post.  This week I’m bringing you Beef Chili Verde which reminds me of my days in junior college.  I went to junior college at Modesto Junior College in Modesto, California.  One of my favorite places to eat there is El Rosal (a chain of mexican restaurants).  My favorite thing on their menu is a beef chili verde burrito, so I decided to bring this taste of home to each of you.  I hope that you enjoy this delicious way to use a roast!

Beef Chili Verde
One Rump Roast
1 C Diet Coke
1 Jar Chili Verde Sauce
Tortillas
Sour Cream
Cheese
Salt, Pepper, Oil

In a large pan heat the oil until it is popping hot, sear all sides of the roast.  Then remove the roast from the pan and slice it against the grain.  In a large boiling pot bring water and diet coke to boil.  Add the slices of roast to the mix.  Cook in the boiling liquid for at least an hour.  Once it seems tender, remove from the liquid and shred with a fork.  Just like we did for “Muddy Fries”.  In a casserole dish combine the beef and the chili verde sauce.  Bake at 350 for 30 minutes or so.  Serve with warm tortillas, shredded cheese, sour cream and corn if you choose. 

Beef Chili Verde
One Rump Roast – $6.50
1 C Diet Coke – $0.50
1 Jar Chili Verde Sauce- $1.98
Tortillas- $1.50
Sour Cream- $0.60
Cheese- $0.75
Salt, Pepper, Oil- $0.25
Total Cost (Serves 5) – $12.08
Cost per plate- $2.41

This is a great meal to have after chilly days.  A great reminder of summer (Mexican food just reminds me of summer for some odd reason).  Anyway a quick, easy, delicious way to use a rump roast is welcome in my kitchen any day.  Beware this recipe can become very spicy hot… especially after it has set in the fridge for a bit.  I hope you enjoy!  Cheer on the Pokes in the morning!  We are up against Baylor for the number 1 seat in the Big 12 South… should be fun! GO POKES GO POKES GO POKES GO!!!

Happy Trails,

~ Anna-Lisa

