Good afternoon y’all! I can’t believe that it is Friday once again… the week flew by, but I am thankful that I get to write you again.  This week I got one of the best birthday presents ever! I got a crock pot!  I know most girls wouldn’t consider a crock pot all that exiting, but because I love to cook, and I have been wanting a one very badly I was ecstatic.  I even read the user manual.. I know nerdy! The first night I had my crock pot I made an awesome soup which you will get to learn to make later in the winter.  The third night I had my crock pot I made this awesome roast you are learning to make right now.  It’s quick (as far as roasts go) it’s different, not your normal roast, and its delicious.  Plug in your crock pot and get to cooking!

Quick Roast & Sweet Potatoes
1 chuck roast
2 large sweet potatoes
2 zucchini
1 onion
salt, pepper, beef bouillon, oil

In a large cast iron, heat oil and sear all sides of the roast.  Place the roast in your crock pot.  Chunk up the sweet potatoes, onion and zucchini; place them in the pot.  Next chunk up a clove of garlic and place in the pot.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Next warm up a cup of water and mix in 2 T of beef bouillon. Add this to the pot and enough water to nearly cover the roast.  Turn on high for 4 hours.  Serve with your favorite biscuit, roll or whole wheat bread.  This is a great way to warm up after a chilly day.

Quick Roast & Sweet Potatoes
1 chuck roast- $8.50
2 large sweet potatoes – $1.40
2 zucchini – $1.30
1 onion- $0.67
salt, pepper, beef bouillon, oil- $0.75
Total Cost (serves 5) – $12.62
Cost per Plate – $2.52

I hope that you enjoyed this little taste of home! Have a great weekend and stay warm everyone!

Happy Trails,

~ Anna-Lisa

