Good Afternoon,

It is currently raining at the campus of Oklahoma State University, and I am at my home away from home, (aka computer lab) where I am working away on my Agriculture Policy class 12 page term paper. I am doing research currently on what the beef packing industry was like before government regulations. So, I am in the late 19th century when refrigeration and railroad transportation was in the beginning stages.

For an ag nerd like me, I find it fascinating. It is rather sobering to think how far back our current beef industry goes.

Fun fact – did you know that “Per capita consumption of beef rose from an average of 77.8 pounds per person during the 1870s to 87.2 pounds per person during the 1880s.” all due to the ability to easily transport in refrigerated train cars beef from the Midwest to the larger cities in the east? (For those mathematically challenged without a calculator like me – that is data from 140 years ago!) Fascinating, pure and simple!

I think its pretty exciting that we are able to eat the tastiest protein in the meat case 140 years later on a budget. I can prove this by my Sunday lunch  yesterday!  So get out the iron skillet, steak out of the freezer and enjoy the protein that’s been fueling America for the last 3 centuries!! 🙂

As a college student living on a budget, with a desire to eat well, I buy many boxes of Stampede Grillers, boneless rib-eyes and New York strips. At $8.46 for a box of 6 tender steaks, I feel like I’m buying wisely! If you’ve been following Beef on a Budget since its conception, you’ll remember on February 23rd Anna and I  posted about this great buy. But I think its about time I mentioned it again. 😉

Sunday Steak for Less:

3 – Stampede Grilling Rib-eyes, thawed
Freddie Paul’s steak seasoning, to taste
iron skillet

Heat iron skillet to medium heat, add a small amount of oil or butter and cook steak to your desired doneness.

*Rare – cook 2 min. on each side.
Medium Rare – cook 4 min. on each side
Medium – cook 5 to 6 min. on each side
Medium well – cook 7-8 min. on each side

Spicy Green Beans
2 cans french cut green beans, drained
1 clove garlic, large minced
1 roasted jalapeno pepper
2 T. butter
Saute garlic and jalapeno peppers in butter until garlic is tender, add green beans and allow to simmer until warm.

 Yummy Spaghetti Squash:
1 spaghetti squash
butter
salt and pepper

With sharp knife, slice a large slit in the squash. Cook in microwave until tender. This takes about 10-12 minutes depending on the size. It will be tender and easy to fork out the squash. Add salt and pepper to taste.

 

Sweet Potatoe Fry’s
Arrange a thin layer of fries on a cookie sheet and bake them for 30 min or until they are crispy.

So, hope you enjoyed your beef trivia of the day! Maybe I should start doing more of that. What do y’all think?

Have a great week everyone,

Amy

Cost:
3 Steak = $4.23/$1.41 a piece
1 Bag of Frozen Sweet Potato French Fries  – $3.84
Spaghetti Squash – $2.00
2 cans Green Beans = 1.33
Seasonings = $0.75
Total: $12.40/$4.13 a plate!

