Good MORNING!

It is the wonderfully fun week of Thanksgiving! I am home early from school, spending  some much-needed time with my family and rejoicing in all the amazing blessings in my life! I do serve a pretty awesome heavenly father! He has blessed me, more than I truly deserve. I have been looking at our calendar of events for the week, and decided, I should treat my family to a  yummy breakfast and jump-start the Thanksgiving festivities! 🙂

So, grab your cozy slippers, some fun music and a thankful heart for all the blessings in your life, and make this delicious and easy breakfast. 🙂

Cheesey Green Chili Casserole
2 lb. beef sausage, cooked, drained
10 eggs
3/4 cup milk
1 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, grated
1 sm. can green chili’s, diced
1 tsp. dried mustard
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. pepper

In large mixing bowl, whisk eggs and milk until foamy. Add seasonings and cheese, mix well. Stir in beef sausage and pour into a greased 9X14” casserole pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes, or until golden brown.

Okay – the below recipe is so very delicious, and I think your family will love it! I made it with Oat Bran, because I am allergic to corn, and didn’t make it with the usual Corn Grits. However, if you can eat grits, and you’d rather try the traditional Southern Fried Grits and Maple Syrup, go right ahead!  I wish I could eat corn – but, I’m not focusing on the things I can’t, but instead on the things I can do!!!

Southern Fried Oat’s and Maple Syrup
Night Before:
1 1/2 cups boiling water
2 cups oat bran or quick cooking grits
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. butter

Boil on high for 4-5 min. or until thick. Add butter, and spread evenly in a greased 9×11 casserole pan. Put in the refrigerator overnight. (this makes it easy to cut into triangles and dip in batter and fry for a few minutes on each side.

Next Morning:

1/2 cup milk
2 eggs
3/4 cup flour
1/4 cup oil

Whisk eggs and milk in small bowl. Cut oat bran/or grits in small triangles. Dip in egg mixture, followed by flour. Fry in a small amount of oil, for 5-7 min, turning over, halfway through cooking.

Drain on paper towels, and keep warm in the oven until ready to eat.

Serve with warm maple syrup.

Momma Brown’s Famous Apple Cider

2 cups apple juice
1 cup cranberry juice (mom uses the 100%)
1 heaping T. brown sugar
1 stick cinnamon
1/2 tsp. whole cloves
1/2 tsp. whole allspice
1/4 cup orange juice
slices of oranges, thin

In a large soup pan, add all ingredients and allow to simmer for atleast 20 min. (A great thing to use, is a metal tea bag to put the cloves and allspice in, so it don’t have to keep those out of the mugs, but it stays in the cider)

The secret really is though – adding all the ingredients, putting in the refrigerator overnight and warming in the morning. The flavors have more time to mix – and the taste is ‘outta this world’! I have been drinking this Winter Favorite for so many years. When I got home Saturday night, it was one of the first things I asked for. Nothing says Holiday Season – than drinking Mom’s warm cider by the fire and laughing with my family!!!

Have a great Thanksgiving!

Amy

Cost:
dozen eggs – $2.09
beef sausage – $3.19
green chili’s – $0.89
milk – $0.75
oat bran/grits – $2.00
seasonings – $0.55
Total Cost: $9.47/7 = $1.35

