Well today is black Friday! Not real sure where the name came from, but it sure makes me laugh.  Especially when I think about the gray haired ladies that I know who get so excited about Black Friday sales that they would leave black eyes and bruises with all who stand in the way! Although, I’m not sure that’s where the name comes from.  This is the last Friday of the month and so this will be the last scheduled roast post!  You are probably ready for some additional variety in our lives, but I hope that I have given you some roast ideas that will help you throughout the winter.  I understand how frustrating it can be at times to dream up something new to do with a roast.  Today’s roast recipe I came up with yesterday.  See, 91% of Americans eat Turkey on Thanksgiving and let’s just say, we were among the 9%.  We decided to have roast among other more traditional dishes like homemade ravioli and sweet potato casserole.  I wanted to do something a little different with this roast but didn’t want it to be too fancy, sometimes simple is best.  This is what I knew, I didn’t have a whole lot of time, I didn’t want it to be stringy, I wanted it to be tender, It needed to be delicious.  In this post I will share with you how I achieved that!  This Cast Iron Holiday Roast is easy, delicious, tender and not typical!

 

Cast Iron Holiday Roast
1 4 lb sirloin tip roast
Butter
Oil
Salt, pepper, BBQ rub

In a large skillet, heat a bit of oil.  Sear the roast on all sides.  Next season the roast with your favorite BBQ rub.  I used one made in Texas but use your favorite. (I’m all about using what you have on hand) Make sure that you season it well and rub it in.  That’s why they call it a rub.  Trust me, a little love for your roast and your roast will love ya back!  Next season with salt and pepper! You gotta use a bit of salt, it will help tenderize.

Not more than 3 tablespoons, but more than 1.  Do what you think, you’re the expert!  Place the roast in a medium size cast iron skillet, slice about 4 tablespoons of butter, nearly half a stick! Place around the roast.  Add warm water about 1/4 the way up the roast.  Cover with foil and place in a slow oven.  Apprx 325 degrees will do.  Cook this low for about 1 hour, then bump it up to 350 for the rest of the cooking time about 2 hours.  Keep a close eye on it, make sure that the water doesn’t all evaporate.  (This will cause the roast to burn) also be sure that the steam ins’t escaping.  The steam will help the roast to cook through. After the roast is done to to your degree of doneness remove it from the oven and let it rest.  This will allow the juices to settle.  Slice thin against the grain and serve!

Cast Iron Holiday Roast
1 4 lb sirloin tip roast – $13.69
Butter, Oil, Salt, pepper, BBQ rub- $1.00
Total Cost- $14.69 (Serves 6)
Cost per plate- $2.44

My favorite thing about holidays is making recipes from the loved ones in your life.  Ya know your grandmother’s pumpkin pie, your mamma’s pumpkin bread or your great-grandmother’s ravioli.  When you make those dishes memories come alive.  This year I had the chance to learn to make a few new dishes that I had never made before!  You will be glad to know that my first pecan pie was delicious.  I also had the chance to make sweet potato casserole for the first time.  I used the recipe of a very special lady who I will never get to meet.  Using her recipe was very special and let me tell ya it’s got to be a flawless one cause I didn’t manage to mess it up too bad!  I’m gonna share it with you too!

 

Perfect Sweet Potato Casserole

1 18 oz can drained sweet potatoes
1 C brown sugar
1/4 C milk
1 egg
1 T melted butter
1 t vanilla
Oil spray
1 T flour
1 T butter
1 C pecans

Combine potatoes, 3/4 C brown sugar, milk, egg, melted margarine, and vanilla.  Mix well.  Put in a oil sprayed baking dish.  Combine flour, 1/4 C brown sugar; cut in 1 T butter until crumbly.  Add 1 C pecans.  Sprinkle over potatoes.  Bake at 350 for 35 min.

 

“The memory of the righteous is blessed.” Proverbs 10:7

 

Enjoy! Hope you have a great week!

~ Anna-Lisa

 

