It is 12 days till Christmas! I made it to finals week at Oklahoma State, and I survived dead week too! 🙂  Last week was fun because the Christian organization I am president of, Cowboys for Christ, presented the Gift of Christmas Live Nativity on south library lawn on Thursday and Friday. This was the second year that I co-chaired the event with Anna-Lisa.

We enjoyed spending our last Christmas together here working hard to share the joy of the season with our campus and community. This year was special with Euyore the donkey, Pistol and Pete the oxen, sheep from OSU Sheep Unit and horses and wisemen from the OSU Rodeo Team.

It was a special to work along with friends who not only talk the talk of Christianity, but who actually show it by how they spend their time. Multiple hours went into the production of this event – and as a group we have been meeting since September planning every detail of this years’ Live Nativity.

This weekend was full of Christmas shopping and catching my breath from my whirlwind week. Today I was craving something fun, different and easy for lunch. I also wanted to have something nutritious with veggies. Because I have not been eating as healthy as I should these last few weeks on the go.

 

So this is what I created in my little apartment kitchen. It will be great for pre-Christmas food because it can easily be made in a Crockpot or done early and served for guests.

For Southern Style Salisbury Steak you’ll need:

2 lbs. tip sirloin steak
1 onion chopped
1 bell pepper chopped
½ cup cilantro chopped
1 tsp. salt
½ tsp. garlic salt
1 tsp. pepper
1 tsp. Montreal Steak Seasoning
1 can beef broth
1 T. starch, corn or potato (I am allergic to corn, so I use potato starch works exactly the same.)
¼ cup of water

For this recipe I used tip sirloin, and wrapped the meat in plastic wrap and used a mallet, so the meat would be tender and not have to cook as long. Slice very thin and brown in iron skillet. Add onions and cook until they caramelize in a small amount of oil and beef. Put in stew pot.

In iron skillet, chop bell peppers and cook until nearly tender – add chopped cilantro. Cook until bell peppers are tender and add to meat. Add seasonings and beef broth. In ¼ cup of water, add starch and stir until dissolved, add to meat mixture. (This is important so that your gravy is not chunky.) Simmer on medium heat for 20-30 min. or in a crock pot for 2-3 hours.

Serve over rice.

Maple Syrup Carrots
This is my favorite way to eat carrots! Hope y’all like it too!

½ bag of sliced carrots
2 cups of water
½ tsp. salt
1 T. butter
2 T. maple syrup

In small sauce pan, boil carrots until tender in salted water, and drain. Add butter and maple syrup. Allow to sit for a few minutes with lid on pan. Stir and serve hot.

Boiled Cabbage
I really like boiled red cabbage – but I don’t really like how it looks. It is not the prettiest color, but the flavor is great!

½ head of red cabbage, large chopped
2 cups water
½ tsp. salt
1 T. butter

Boil until tender, drain and add salt and butter. Serve hot.

I hope that this last days before Christmas are some of the best days of the whole year for you and your family!

God Bless you!

~Amy

Costs:
tip sirloin = 2 lbs/$4.50 lb = $9.00
onion = $0.70
bell pepper = $1.12
cilantro = $0.72
seasonings = $1.00
beef broth = $0.89
carrots = $1.15
cabbage = $1.98
butter = $0.89
maple syrup = $0.10
Total = $17.55/5 = $3.51/serving

