Happy New Year!

I got to ring in the New Year with great family and friends in the large metropolis of Throckmorton. 🙂 Small town Texas is the place to be on New Year’s! I was excited to have the opportunity to take my Mom’s Beef Dip that I posted last week – and y’all! It was a hit! 🙂

January – seems to me always a very busy month. The ranch is preparing for heifers to calve, new year business decisions are being discussed, wheat-pasture cattle need checked, ice needs breaking, school is in full force and no one is wanting to spend a lot of time cooking. You want warm, easy beef recipes so you can get on with life. 🙂 So I’ve decided to share some of my favorite quick ground beef recipes for the next four Monday’s.

Every recipe has been tested on my family – and any day help or hired hands. I promise your family will like it – if they do!

During my last week of school last semester my sisters, Lydia 14, and Amanda 12, called telling me about this new sweet and sour meatball recipe they made for lunch and how awesome it was. They took pictures because they felt it was worth sharing. Once I got home, they made if for me and I have to admit. It is pretty tasty!

You’ll Need:
1 lb. hamburger
1/2 c. bread crumbs
1/4 c. milk
2 T. onion, finally chopped
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
1 egg

Mix ingredients; shape into twenty 1 1/2-inch balls. Cook over medium heat, turning occasionally, until brown. About 20 minutes. Remove and drain excess liquid.

Sweet and Sour Sauce
1/2 c. brown sugar, packed
1 T. cornstarch
1 can pineapple chunks
1/3 c. vinegar
1 T. soy sauce
1 sm. bell pepper, coarsely chopped

Mix brown sugar and cornstarch in skillet. Stir in pineapple, vinegar and soy sauce. Heat to boiling, stirring constantly; reduce heat. Add meatballs, cover and simmer stirring occasionally for 10 minutes. Stir in green pepper. Cover and simmer until crisp tender, 5 minutes.

I’m proud of my sisters and they great lil’ beef cooks they are becoming!

I’m soaking up my last week of freedom!
Talk to you next week,
Amy

Cost’s
ground beef = $2.69
bread crumbs = $0.35
milk = $0.06
seasonings = $1.71
egg = $0.09
pineapple = $2.06
bell pepper = $1.85
Total = $8.81/4 = $2.20 a serving