I am so sorry that you are getting this post so late in the evening.  I am not sure that I have told you, but I have been hired by Farm Journal Media and recently moved to Mexico, MO. Although tonight I write you from Atlanta, GA.  Farm Journal is the official sponsor of the AgConnect Expo, a farm machinery & agriculture trade show.  So yes it has been a whirlwind first day of work Monday, Atlanta for business Thursday.  It’s been a blast thus far, but there is so much more to come.  Anyhow this is a stew recipe that I fixed on New Year’s Day.  It was delcious. 

Let’s talk stew. Did the stew your mother make have a soupy liquid, a thicker liquid or a gravy like liquid? Come to think of it I have no idea what my mother’s stew is like, but I promise you it’s not like this.  I just don’t think of stew with this kind of sauce so you can imagine my confusion when I was corrected and Ryan asked me to adjust the stew for a thicker sauce.  It was in the most gracious and thankful tone of course! Anyway, I improvised and turns out you can thicken it up after it cooks a bit.  This recipe is just a good old standard, but I included a new little twist with the cajun seasoning! Enjoy!

Twisted Beef Stew
1 chuck roast or equialent stew meat (Whichever is cheaper)
1 onion
5 Carrots
5 Celery Stalks
5 Potatoes
1/2 Stick of butter
Salt, Pepper, Cajun Seasoning, Flour

If roast is on sale it can often be even cheaper that stew meat.  In that case buy the roast and slice it into bit size pieces against the grain of course!

Next Chunk up an onion.  Mix the onion in with the beef. 

 Put the meat in onions in the crock pot on high with the butter.  Fill with water until right below the top of the meat. Peal the carrots and chunk them up as well. 

 

Clean the celery stalks and chop up the whole thing, even those little leaves, they have flavor too! 

 Add the vegetables after the meat has been on about an hour. Add salt, pepper and cajun seasoning to taste.  Let this mixture cook for 2 hours.  Leave the skins on your potatoes, no need to waste time, and chunk them up as well.  Add to the stew and continue cooking for 1 hour.  Using a large ladle, pour some broth into a mixing bowl.  Whisk in flour until the mixture is thick and add back to the stew.  Continue this process until the stew is as thick as you would like it to be. Serve with warm bread.

Twisted Beef Stew
1 chuck roast or equialent stew meat- $5.50
1 onion- $0.67
5 Carrots- $1.10
5 Celery Stalks- $0.75
5 Potatoes- $1.20
1/2 Stick of butter- $0.30
Salt, Pepper, Cajun Seasoning, Flour- $0.60
Total Cost (Serves 6) – $10.12
Cost Per Plate – $1.68

 

I hope you enjoy this little taste of comfort!

~ Anna-Lisa

