I am so very thankful for my break, and my good dose of everyday reality! Now that I am back to complete my last semester of college, I am even more thankful for it! I loved every minute of being home – seeing my family, being in the country and hearing all the stories.

 

Upon the first few days of being home, deer hunting, blind making and ‘buck talk’ occupied much of my 3 brothers life. They love to hunt. However, they only shoot the trophy bucks. If they’re not big enough to mount, they’ll wait until next year. This year one whitetail and one mule deer were the only ones that made the cut and currently at the taxidermist. Myles is waiting for next year. 🙂

Here is Griffin 19, with his muley from the ranch in Channing, Texas.

When they guys are doing ranch work, and hunting – we need food that can stay warm on the stove. Because we never know when they will actually make their apperance back at the house. This is something I made for that very purpose. It is super, super quick and stays warm in an iron skillet so supererbly! I hope you like it too. 🙂

For a lil’ change in pace – I took a picture of my fast scratches on my pad of the ingredients you’ll need.

 2 lb. ground beef, cooked & drained
2 sm. cans tomato sauce
1 can mixed great northern/pinto beans, drained
1 can Ranch Style beans
1 sm. onion chopped
1 T. dried cilantro
2 tsp. garlic salt
1 1/2 tsp. cumin
1 1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tps. paprika
1 tsp. pepper

Combine all ingredients, and simmer on low until ready to eat. 
Serve with tortillas, cornbread, cheese and sliced apples for a
easy meal that stays ready as long as you need. 🙂

 

So the next time you need a quick hamburger meal – try Deer Huntin’ Chili! And if you are in the hunt for Torgi puppies check out this link!

Take care, stay warm and enjoy the Snow!!!

~Amy

Cost: 
beef = $2.69/lb = $5.38
beans = $2.18
onion = $0.64
seasonings = $2.09
Total = $10.29/5 =$2.02 

