Good afternoon! I realize I am a day late writing this post, but I hope that it’s a dollar short too!  I have spent the past week in Chicago for the Top Producer Seminar.  It was a great experience and I met a ton of extremely wonderful farmers and farm wives.  Then yesterday I was able to come to Arkansas to spend the weekend with Ryan on the ranch.  I am so thankful to have these few days to relax, drain my brain and rest up.  This is a casserole dish that he had fixed for me when I arrived.  It is delicious… a little spicy, extremely beefy and just the comfort food that I was craving.  So get into that kitchen and get ready to relax with this wonderful macaroni dish.

From The Pantry
1 box elbow macaroni
2 cans RoTel Tomatoes
Garlic Salt, Ranch Seasoning
From the Ice Box
1 lb ground beef
2 Jalapeno
1 green bell pepper
1 onion
1 small block of cheese (apprx 2 1/2 cups)

Chop the onion and jalapeno to your liking.  Start a pot of boiling water.  (I always add a dash of salt to my pasta water, not because it makes the water boil faster but because I think the flavor is better.) In a large skillet combine the ground beef, all the vegetables and the seasonings.  Cook until the beef is browned through.  While the beef is browning, boil the box of elbow noodles.  Once the ground beef is browned through drain off the excess fat.  Also drain your noodles at this time.  Combine the noodles, meat and veggies and pour into a 13 X 9 pan. Top with cheese (a little extra cheese never hurt) and bake at 300 degrees for 15 minutes or until all the cheese has melted. Serve this delicious dish alone or with a side salad.

Beef Mac & Cheese Costs
1 box elbow macaroni – $1.00
2 cans RoTel Tomatoes – $1.60
Garlic Salt, Ranch Seasoning- $1.00
1 lb ground beef – $3.00
2 Jalapenos- $0.28
1 green bell pepper- $0.88
1 onion- $0.63
1 small block of cheese (apprx 2 1/2 cups)- $2.23
Total Cost- $10.62 (Serves 6)
Cost Per Plate- $1.77

I hope you enjoy this beefy comfort food!

~ Anna-Lisa

