Happy Valentines Day! I got to eat with dear friends Trent and Casey on this holiday that you either love or hate. I never knew so many people who disliked it so much until this year. Facebook was full of complaints – I guess I’ve always loved chocolate, the colors red and pink and getting to send cards that I’ve never thought about hating it. Nevertheless, I hope you had a superb Monday – I did! 😉


Krautalicious

Dear sweet Casey jokingly replied with the name after I showed a picture of this family staple. We just called it sausage and sauerkraut – but I deemed on Valentines Day – this was the perfect name-lift! Hope you enjoy – this is a comfort food for me. I use to make it for my brother Griffin, and I miss  having him around. He is currently at New Mexico Military Institute in Roswell, NM – over 500 + miles away.

It’s super easy – and even if you’re not a big fan of sauerkraut. Everyone I’ve ever served it too has enjoyed this.

You’ll need:

1 pkg. beef sausage, sliced
1 lg. onion, coarsely chopped
1 lg. can sauerkraut, drained
2 c. beef broth
salt/pepper/garlic powder

In a large skillet, caramelize onions in a small amount oil. Add sausage slightly brown, add in rest of ingredients and allow to simmer for 15-20 minutes. Serve hot with veggies and butter garlic hotdog buns for a krautalicious and easy meal!

Have an awesome week!

Happy Valentines,

Amy


Cost:
1 pkg. = $3.00
onion = $o.70
sauerkraut = $1.17
beef broth = $1.67
Total = $ 6.54
/8 = $0.82 a serving

