Y’all I just love San Antonio! It is the place for memories, and boy do I have a lotta good memories there! Last year my brother RA met his the love of his life  along the river walk, and there is always awesome food, fun music and streets steeped in rich Texas History!

It was so good to listen to sessions pertaining to my favorite topic of ranching. I think it is the sign of wisdom and knowledge when you realize you really don’t know it all! I hope I never stop enjoying learning – because well, I just simply have too much fun at it. I also loved spending time with good friends I’d not seen in a long time. After being at the convention all day on Saturday, attending great sessions like:

How We’ll Feed the World
Dennis Avery, Hudson Institute
“Populations with increasing incomes want more and better protein. We face the challenge of feeding a lot more and a lot richer people without taking a lot of land from nature.” The United Nations (U.N.) projects world propulation will reach more than 9 billion by 2050, and will require 100 percent more food than we now produce. Avery, senior fellow and director for the Hudson Institute Center for Global Food Issues, Churchville, Va., will discuss these and other complcating factors of how we’ll feed the world.

and my favorite by the talented Mrs. McAdams!

What Are Scientists Thinking About,
Hosted by the Agricultural Research Committee
Branding and product expert Dr. Molly McAdams, formerly v.p. of Own Brand for H-E-B stores, will explore how economic trends and consumer preferences drive new product development and merchandising innovations in meat sales.


I went back to the historic Menger hotel changed and went out on the town to the Cattle Raisers Dance at the Buckhorn Saloon and Museum for a night of fun, and homemade tortilla’s and carne gusada! Oh y’all, I was in heaven! I stood by the table, watched these hardworking and expert cooks as they prepared probably my all-time favorite Mexican dish. My Uncle Jody and I, we just didn’t want to move – but savored every bite of the rich, delicate flavors of true-blue way to eat BEEF and Green Chilies!!!

I really couldn’t believe my luck, that the dish I’d prepared at home during spring break was being prepared for me! I do hope that you’ve tried this before, but if not – well, indulge, you won’t regret a single bite!

Carne Gusada

Please do forgive the awful pictures, they were taken by yours truly, with my mom’s point in shoot camera that apparently I don’t know how to focus properly! Aggravating! 😦 don’t let terrible photo’s keep you from testing this recipe out!!

You’ll need:

2 lbs. cubed round steak
2 tbsp. flour
1/4 c. minced onion
1 jar diced tomatoes
Salt & pepper to taste
1 jar green chilies
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/2 c. beef broth
Brown meat in vegetable oil. Sprinkle with flour. Add remaining ingredients and stir. Simmer covered at least 2 hours; add beef broth or water if needed. Serve with warm tortilla, (flour tortillas).
Serve with homemade tortillas if you have them, or any flour tortillas for that matter and enjoy!!
I can’t believe I only have 40+ days left of college. I’m so ready to be done, but know I’ll be a little sad to see this portion of my life come to a close. However, I can’t wait for the next portion of my life. I’m looking forward to keeping you informed about my next adventure! 🙂
Have a great week,
Amy
Cost:

cubed round steak = $3.45/lb = $6.90
minced onion = $0.50
tomato = $0.65
beef broth = $0.45
seasonings = $1.00
tortillas = $2.11
Total = $11.61/5 = $2.32 a serving
