Good afternoon!

I hope you’re Friday is going great! I really don’t know where my week went – seems like it should still be Wednesday, yet it’s not! My sisters were planning on posting today, however, with my brother Griffin (19) in surgery right now as I type, it has kind of through a ‘kink’ of sorts in our plan.

Griffin is having stretched ligaments reattached in his left shoulder due to a hunting injury that happened this winter. The doctor was hoping that he’d not have to have surgery, but it refuses to heal, so Dr. Smith is working on a 3rd Brown guy in the last 4 years. I guess you could say we’re pretty good customers, but as ranch guys – I guess that just comes with the territory of what we do. We appreciate all of your prayers, I know many of you will lift Griffin up in prayer after you read this, and that is so encouraging to me! I have such awesome, wonderful friends and followers here on BeefonaBudget.com

This semester, I am in Animal Science 2253 Meat Animal and Carcass class taught by Dr. Gretchen Hilton, a Texan here at OSU from Archer City. After I told my mom who my professor was, she reminded me that my sisters have competed with her niece at Jr. Rodeo’s many years ago, and my mom remembers her barrel horses years ago while they were in college. Agriculture truly is such a small world! 🙂

Alas, the point of my story – last week’s presentation was on Meat in the Diet. It was a great presentation, and I felt many of my followers would find this information helpful, and encouraging about the benefits of beef  in their quest of a healthy diet. To view the power point click here: Meat in the Diet

I encourage you to look through this powerpoint, and hopefully be encouraged to consume more dark green vegetables, and more ZIP rich BEEF!

The one slide that I really wanted to talk about was that and I quote: “The US Centers for Disease Control Estimates that approximately 700,000 toddlers and 7.8 million woman in the US have iron deficiencies.

Y’all, that is so sad! 700,000 precious toddlers are not getting enough iron!

 

According to this link: Centers of Disease and Prevention

What is iron deficiency and why is it a concern?

Iron deficiency is a condition resulting from too little iron in the body. Iron deficiency is the most common nutritional deficiency and the leading cause of anemia in the United States.1

The terms anemia, iron deficiency, and iron deficiency anemia often are used interchangeably but equivalent. Iron deficiency ranges from depleted iron stores without functional or health impairment to iron deficiency with anemia, which affects the functioning of several organ systems.2

Iron deficiency is a concern because it can:

  • Iron deficiency can delay normal infant motor function (normal activity and movement) or mental function (normal thinking and processing skills).
  • Iron deficiency anemia during pregnancy can increase risk for small or early (preterm) babies. Small or early babies are more likely to have health problems or die in the first year of life than infants who are born full term and are not small.
  • Iron deficiency can cause fatigue that impairs the ability to do physical work in adults. Iron deficiency may also affect memory or other mental function in teens.

 

As you can see, iron is very vital and needed to be healthy, happy person. Back to Dr. Hilton’s slide, Iron from beef (which is heme iron) is more easily used by the body than iron from plants.

Look at these figures:

To get the same amount of iron as that found in 3 ounces of cooked sirloin, you have to consume:

Cups

Food

2 1/3

Canned kidney beans

5 ¼

Raw spinach

10 ½

Raw broccoli

21

Cooked corn

 

 

I don’t know about y’all, but that’s a lot of veggies! I am wanting to do more research about this, and see what I can do to help young moms, and woman across America learn how to eat healthier and consume more meat, so they can have the happy lifestyle they are wanting!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this change of pace for this beautiful Friday! Let me know what you think and if y’all would like more information like this posted at a more scheduled time, please let me know!

 

God Bless You,

Amy

 

